belay course 2

The National Indoor Climbing Award Scheme (NICAS) is a UK wide scheme designed to promote climbing development and accredit individual achievement on artificial climbing structures. It can be used as a starting point for people wishing to take up climbing and mountaineering. It is open to all candidates aged 7 and upwards.




Every week thousands of people climb indoors and outdoors on purpose-built artificial climbing walls. For many, the climbing wall is their first introduction to the absorbing world of climbing.

The National Indoor Climbing Award Scheme will provide the structure and motivation for new climbers to develop their skills in order that they may gain the most out of their climbing as well as having their achievements recognised.

NICAS is also ideal in logging experience for GCSE P.E. or The Duke of Edinburgh Award. Ask at reception for more information on getting involved with NICAS at Dynamic Rock.

Level 1 & 2 - are completed during Young Climbers Club 
Levels 3, 4 & 5 have their own times and days.

NICAS candidate? Click - Information for NICAS candidates 

Rock Climbing